HomeGuideseSIM & SIM CardsJapan eSIM 10 Days

Prices checked 3 Nov 2026

Japan eSIM 10 Days:
How Much Data Do You Need?

5–15 GB depending on how you travel, and the cheapest plan on sale that covers ten days on data and on validity.

Prices checked daily✓ Updated November 2026✓ Validity checked, not just GB✓ Tethering & phone-number rules

Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. We may earn a small commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. This doesn't affect the comparison — the table is ordered by the numbers, not by commission. Full disclaimer →

Ten days in Japan needs 5 GB if your phone is doing maps, messaging and a few photo uploads, 10 GB once you add video calls and some streaming, and 15 GB if you tether a laptop or watch video on trains — so 10 GB is the figure to buy on if you are not sure, and it is what the cheapest ten-day-capable plan carries: eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days at $14.99. Those per-day figures are planning arithmetic rather than a provider claim, but they sit well inside what the providers treat as heavy use — Airalo's fair-use threshold is 3 GB in a day and Sakura Mobile's daily cap is 3 GB.

Unlimited is only needed by three kinds of traveller: anyone tethering a laptop through the working day, anyone streaming video daily rather than on hotel WiFi, and anyone who would rather pay not to think about it. For everyone else it is $18.00 of headroom nobody uses: the cheapest unlimited plan still valid on day ten is eSIM Go's Unlimited / 10 days at $32.99, against $14.99 for a gigabyte a day — and none of the unlimited plans is unmetered at full speed anyway.

Prices read off each provider's own site on 3 Nov 2026 by the job that re-reads them daily. Fair-use thresholds, speed caps and validity start rules read on 29 Oct 2026; tethering and phone-number clauses on 22 Oct 2026; the Klook rows come from its own listing data of 22 Oct 2026, because Klook answers automated reads of the product page with HTTP 403.

Quick Answer · 3 Nov 202610-Day Trips

Data for ten days

5–15 GB (10 GB if unsure)

Cheapest plan that covers it

eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days — $14.99

Unlimited, still valid on day 10

from $32.99

If the tickets and transport for this trip are already going through one checkout, Klook sells a Japan eSIM of its own — tiers from 500 MB to 50 GB plus an unlimited option, so the sizing above still applies, and it is the one option here with no verified price to quote because the listing blocks automated reads.

How much data do I need for 10 days in Japan?

5 GB light, 10 GB normal, 15 GB heavy. The per-day column is planning arithmetic — half a gigabyte a day for maps, messaging and photos, a gigabyte once video calls and some streaming are in the mix, and half as much again for a tethered laptop — and the plan column is the cheapest thing on sale that covers the total without expiring first.

How you travelPer day10 daysCheapest plan that covers it
Light — maps, messaging, a few photo uploads0.5 GB5 GBeSIM Go 5 GB / 30 days — $9.99
Normal — the above plus video calls and some streaming1 GB10 GBeSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days — $14.99
Heavy — a tethered laptop, or video on trains1.5 GB15 GBAiralo 20 GB / 15 days — $24.00

Two things pull a ten-day trip towards the heavy row rather than the light one. The first is navigation on arrival days: a city you have never walked uses far more map data than one you know, and a ten-day itinerary normally has three or four of those. The second is tethering — a laptop on hotel-free afternoons roughly triples a tourist day, which is why the hotspot clause in the table below matters more than the headline price if you are working while you travel.

Prices from the daily feed, checked 3 Nov 2026. For the same arithmetic across 3, 5, 7, 14 and 30 days, and every plan sorted by price per GB, see Japan eSIM data plans compared.

The Plans That Cover a Full 10 Days

Every row below holds at least 10 GB of usable data and stays valid for at least ten days. Sakura Mobile's allowance is per day rather than per trip, so its row is measured on what you can actually use across ten days. Tethering and the phone-number clause are each provider's own published wording, not an inference.

ProviderPlan for ten daysValidTetheringJapanese phone numberPrice
eSIM Go (Breeze)10 GB / 30 days30 daysYes, no extra costNo — data only$14.99
Airalo10 GB / 15 days15 daysYes, where device allowsNo — data only$17.50
Sakura Mobile30 GB / 10 days (3 GB/day)10 daysYes, allowance by plan lengthVoice + Data plan only$36.87
Klook Japan eSIM500 MB to 50 GB, plus unlimited (10 GB/day at full speed, then 128 kbps)Not stated in the listing data readSupportedNo — data onlyCheck on KlookNo verified price — see note

Which one to buy. eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days at $14.99 is the cheapest of the four and states tethering on every plan at no extra cost, with 30 days of validity so the clock is never the constraint — the trade-off is email-only support and no in-app top-up. Airalo 10 GB / 15 days at $17.50 costs $2.51 more for the same allowance and buys two things worth having on a ten-day trip: 24/7 live chat, and in-app top-up so a bad estimate costs a few dollars rather than a second plan. Sakura Mobile 30 GB / 10 days is the expensive option and the only one with a route to a Japanese phone number — on its separate Voice + Data eSIM, which needs an in-person ID check in Japan.

Also on Klook:Klook's own Japan eSIM sells the same sizes — 500 MB to 50 GB plus an unlimited tier — and its listing states tethering is supported and the service is data only, so the sizing above transfers. It is unpriced here because the listing blocks automated price reads, which is also why it sits outside the ordered comparison rather than in it. Check Klook eSIM prices →

Data, validity and price from the daily price feed (3 Nov 2026); tethering and phone-number clauses from each provider's own pages (22 Oct 2026); the Klook row from its listing data of 22 Oct 2026. Holafly is absent because it sells unlimited plans only — it is priced in the next section.

Is unlimited eSIM worth it for 10 days?

For most ten-day trips, no — it is $18.00 more than a plan carrying a gigabyte a day, and no "unlimited" Japan plan is unmetered at full speed. Every one of them publishes a threshold, and on a ten-day trip those thresholds are what you are actually buying:

ProviderCheapest unlimited valid for 10 daysPriceWhat "unlimited" means on it
eSIM GoUnlimited / 10 days$32.99Unlimited Essential — speed reduced after daily high-speed allowance
AiraloUnlimited / 10 days$34.50Fair-use policy applies
HolaflyUnlimited / 10 days$36.50Hotspot capped at 1 GB/day
Sakura MobileUnlimited / 10 days$48.44Unlimited on-device (au/KDDI); hotspot allowance by plan length

In the providers' own wording, read on 29 Oct 2026: Airalo runs at full speed to 3 GB a day and then 1 Mbps "for the rest of that day", resetting every 24 hours from activation; eSIM Go sells two unlimited tiers, and the one priced above is Essential, which reduces speed after a daily high-speed allowance — its Premium Unlimited publishes the threshold as 60 GB over 10 days, after which "your data speed will be reduced (but is still suitable for streaming 720p video)"; Sakura Mobile's unlimited plan is unlimited on the device itself but allows one hotspot total for the trip rather than a daily one; Holafly caps shareable data at 1 GB a day. On a ten-day trip, a 10 GB capped plan and an unlimited plan diverge only if you pass a gigabyte a day — and the capped one can be topped up if you do.

Holafly is priced above but not linked: it runs no affiliate programme this site can join, so the nearest unlimited plan available through these links is Airalo's.

Get Airalo unlimited eSIM →

Holafly is not available through our links — Airalo is our recommended alternative.

Should I buy a 10-day or 15-day eSIM?

Buy the 15-day plan, because almost nobody charges a real premium for the extra five days. Japan eSIMs are sold in 3, 5, 7, 15 and 30-day blocks, so an exact ten-day term is the exception rather than the rule — and the mistake that follows is buying on allowance alone: 3 plans in the current catalogue hold 10 GB or more but expire before day 10, leaving data on a dead profile three days before you fly home.

The upcharge is small where the choice exists. Airalo's 10 GB costs $17.00 on 7 days and $17.50 on 15 — $0.50 for eight more days of validity. eSIM Go sells its fixed allowances on 30-day validity only, so the question does not arise: eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days is a ten-day plan with twenty days spare. Sakura Mobile is the one provider with an exact ten-day term — 30 GB / 10 days at $36.87 — and it is priced per day rather than per gigabyte, so it only makes sense if you need 3 GB a day or the phone number.

The one case for buying short deliberately: your trip is ten days but your phone is only without home coverage for part of it — a work trip where the office provides WiFi, say. Then a 7-day plan plus an in-app top-up is cheaper than fifteen days of validity you do not use. Check the provider allows top-ups first; eSIM Go does not do them in-app.

When should I install my Japan eSIM?

Buy it a few days before you fly, install it at home, and let it activate when you land — but check which event your provider counts as the start of the validity period, because on a ten-day plan getting it wrong costs a tenth of the trip. The install itself takes about two minutes and needs WiFi, which is the real reason not to leave it until the airport.

ProviderWhen the clock startsSo installChecked
eSIM Go (Breeze)“Plan validity starts on first data use in Japan, not at purchase.”“Install before you fly.”29 Oct 2026
Airalo“The validity period of your eSIM package starts when one of the following happens: When you connect to a supported network in its coverage area or When you install your eSIM.”Safe to install at home for most packages — check that package's Validity Policy first29 Oct 2026
Sakura MobileThe 3 GB/day plans: “usage period starts once you install the eSIM”. The unlimited data-only plan: “the usage period starts once you arrive to Japan”.Install the 3 GB/day plans on arrival — installing at home burns days of a ten-day plan29 Oct 2026
Klook Japan eSIMSold as a QR-code voucher (“Japan eSIM: High-Speed Internet (QR Code Voucher)”); no start rule stated in the listing data readNot stated — check the listing22 Oct 2026
Also on Klook:If you are buying before departure anyway and the trip's tickets, passes or airport transfer are already in a Klook basket, its Japan eSIM goes through the same checkout — one account, one confirmation email, and the QR code arrives as a voucher rather than a separate login. Check Klook eSIM prices →

Whichever you buy, do the three compatibility checks before you pay rather than at the gate: the handset has to be eSIM-capable, carrier-unlocked, and able to show you an EID in its settings. The setup guide has the exact menu for iPhone and Android and the troubleshooting for a profile that will not install.

Can I top up a Japan eSIM?

Yes, on most providers — which is the whole argument for buying 10 GB rather than paying for unlimited. Airalo lets you top up by buying an additional package in the app, with no new QR code. eSIM Go (Breeze) allows top-ups through its website rather than in an app. Sakura Mobile allows data add-ons through its customer portal. Holafly's plans are unlimited, so there is nothing to top up — but they are also fixed-length, so an eleventh day means a second purchase.

The catch is practical rather than contractual: a top-up needs a working connection to complete. Buy the extra data while you still have some — before the train into the mountains, not after you arrive with 50 MB left. Japan's convenience-store and station WiFi will get a purchase through in an emergency, but it is slow and sign-up flows are often Japanese-only.

Four Ways to Make 10 GB Cover Ten Days

Download each city's map

Google Maps offline areas cost nothing to use once downloaded, and arrival days in an unfamiliar city are the heaviest map days of a ten-day itinerary.

Stream on hotel WiFi only

Video is the single biggest drain on any plan — an hour of it can cost more than a whole day of maps and messaging. Ten evenings of it will finish 10 GB on its own.

Queue photo uploads

Turn off camera-roll backup over mobile data and let it run overnight on WiFi. Full-resolution uploads from ten days of photos are a plan's worth of data.

Watch the hotspot clause

Tethering is where a ten-day plan goes from comfortable to short. eSIM Go states it on every plan at no extra cost; Holafly caps shareable data at 1 GB a day.

Common Questions

1. How much data do I need for 10 days in Japan?
Budget 5 GB for ten days if your phone is doing maps, messaging and a few photo uploads, 10 GB once you add video calls and some streaming, and 15 GB if you tether a laptop or watch video on trains. 10 GB is the figure to buy on if you are not sure, and it is what the cheapest ten-day-capable plan on sale carries: eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days at $14.99 (prices checked 3 Nov 2026). Those per-day figures are planning arithmetic rather than a provider claim, but they sit well inside what the providers treat as heavy use — Airalo's fair-use threshold is 3 GB in a day and Sakura Mobile's daily cap is 3 GB (checked 29 Oct 2026).
2. Is unlimited eSIM worth it for 10 days?
For most ten-day trips, no. The cheapest unlimited plan that stays valid for the full ten days is eSIM Go's Unlimited / 10 days at $32.99 — $18.00 more than eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days at $14.99, which carries a gigabyte a day (checked 3 Nov 2026). None of the unlimited plans is unmetered at full speed either: Airalo runs full speed to 3 GB a day then 1 Mbps until the 24-hour reset, eSIM Go's cheaper Unlimited Essential tier reduces speed after a daily high-speed allowance and its Premium Unlimited publishes 60 GB over 10 days before the reduction, Holafly caps shareable hotspot data at 1 GB a day, and Sakura Mobile's unlimited plan is unlimited on the device but allows a fixed hotspot total by plan length. Unlimited is worth it for three readers: anyone tethering a laptop all day, anyone streaming video daily, and anyone who would rather not think about it at all.
3. Should I buy a 10-day or 15-day eSIM?
Buy the longer validity, because almost nobody prices it as a premium. Airalo's 10 GB runs $17.00 for 7 days against $17.50 for 15 — $0.50 to stop the plan expiring three days before you fly home. eSIM Go sells its fixed allowances on 30-day validity only, so the question does not arise there. 3 plans in the current catalogue hold 10 GB or more but run out before day 10, which is the actual trap: buying on allowance alone and landing on a 7-day plan with data still on it. Sakura Mobile is the one provider selling an exact ten-day term (30 GB / 10 days).
4. When should I install my Japan eSIM?
Install before you fly and activate when you land — but check which of the two your provider counts, because on a ten-day plan a wrong guess costs a tenth of the trip. eSIM Go states "plan validity starts on first data use in Japan, not at purchase" and tells you to "install before you fly". Airalo's validity "starts when one of the following happens: When you connect to a supported network in its coverage area or When you install your eSIM", so the package's own Validity Policy decides. Sakura Mobile is the exception: on its 3 GB/day plans the "usage period starts once you install the eSIM", so install those on arrival rather than at home. Provider wording checked 29 Oct 2026.
5. Can I top up a Japan eSIM?
Yes, for most providers — which is why starting at 10 GB rather than paying for unlimited is the safe choice on a ten-day trip. Airalo lets you top up by buying an additional package in the app, with no new QR code. eSIM Go (Breeze) allows top-ups through its website. Sakura Mobile allows data add-ons through its customer portal. Holafly's plans are unlimited, so there is nothing to top up. The practical catch is that a top-up needs a working connection to complete, so buy the extra data before you head into the mountains or out to the smaller islands, not after.
6. Does a Japan eSIM come with a Japanese phone number?
No — every ten-day eSIM on this page is data only, with one exception. Airalo, eSIM Go and the Klook listing give you no Japanese number, no SMS and no voice calls. Sakura Mobile's separate Voice + Data eSIM is the only route to a Japanese number, and it needs an in-person ID check in Japan before the usage period starts. If you only need SMS for verification codes, keep your home SIM active in the other slot and let the eSIM carry the data. Clauses checked 22 Oct 2026.
7. Can I tether a laptop to a Japan eSIM for 10 days?
Yes on all four, but the terms differ and a tethered laptop is what pushes a ten-day trip from 10 GB to 15 GB or more. eSIM Go states tethering on every Japan plan at no extra cost. Airalo's help centre says the personal hotspot works where your device and the network allow it. Sakura Mobile's unlimited plans carry one hotspot allowance for the whole trip rather than a daily one. Holafly caps shareable data at 1 GB a day. The Klook listing states hotspot and tethering are supported. Tethering clauses checked 22 Oct 2026; the Klook line comes from its listing data of 22 Oct 2026.

Keep Reading

Buying for a ten-day trip?

10 GB covers almost every ten-day itinerary, and the cheapest plan that holds it without expiring is eSIM Go 10 GB / 30 days at $14.99 as of 3 Nov 2026. Klook's own Japan eSIM is the one-checkout option if the rest of the trip is already booked there.

Check Klook eSIM prices →